Pension choice advice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Siward 16 Feb 2024

Hi hive mind.

My wife has, at the age of 57, left her public sector job for a host of reasons. She still expects to be working at something or other (yet to be decided) for another 10 years or so.

She has accumulated a pension and if she draws it at her normal retirement age (i.e. 67, in ten years) she would get £12k per annum.

If she draws it now she will get £8K per annum.

So back of the envelope says she'd have to draw the 12k pension from age 67 for 20 years to break even. There are other factors though such as what one could do with the money if received earlier (invest it, pay down the mortgage).

She's inclined to take it now. Any views on the wisdom or otherwise of that?

Pedro50 16 Feb 2024
In reply to Siward:

I AM NOT AN EXPERT.

If she takes 8K now but carries on working it will form part of her taxable income. 12K at 67 might still attract tax when added to any state pension but probably less. Current tax free allowance is about 12.5K, who knows what it will be in 10 years time or what the state pension will be.

Notwithstanding the above I'd be tempted to take it now. Life is too short.

Post edited at 18:29
 RobAJones 16 Feb 2024
In reply to Pedro50:

> If she takes 8K now but carries on working it will form part of her taxable income. 12K at 67 might still attract tax when added to any state pension but probably less. Current tax free allowance is about 12.5K, who knows what it will be in 10 years time or what the state pension will be.

It's just a guess but I'd of gone with probably more. At the moment the difference between the state pension and the personal allowance is less than 4k and getting smaller. Any reason you think it is going to increase? 

> Notwithstanding the above I'd be tempted to take it now.

Even though the actuarial reduction for my DB pension is higher than the OP's , I'm still taking the early option.