Stob Ban South Gully

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 HSA 18 Feb 2020

I’m after some advice...

I’m really new to winter climbing - I’ve done some winter walking and I’m ready to start doing something graded. Obviously I want to start with something that’s Grade I and I’ve looked at a few options around the Ben Nevis/Glencoe area and decided Ston Ban South Gully looks like a good one to start with.

The weather isn’t looking too bad tomorrow so I was thinking of heading up there in the morning.

My question is about the avalanche risk. I have read about it and how to read it etc, and also looked at the avalanche forecast - but I think the more I read about it, the more it just seems like there could always be an avalanche risk if there's snow...

But I know there has been quite a bit of snow recently and I’ve also read that you should leave it 48 hours after fresh snow for gullies etc - but then I don’t know if that just means if it has snowed A LOT in the last 48 hours...

But anyway - do people think Stop Ban South Gully might be a good option for tomorrow?

I'm thinking I'm probably just being over cautious and it will be fine (as there won’t have been a huge amount of snow in the last 48 hours), but I'm really not sure.

And if Stob Ban isn’t looking like a good option for tomorrow, can anyone recommend any other good Grade I options in the area that might be good to start with? (I’m in Fort William so ideally somewhere not too far away - Ben Nevis/Glencoe area etc).

Any advice would be really appreciated...

Thanks!

In reply to HSA:

Tomorrow's avalanche forecast is not out til this afternoon but it is unlikely to be promising. Sheltered snow-collecting NE aspects look like a pretty good bet for getting yourself avalanched today, and it's supposed to be snowing all day today too. I would avoid South Gully like the plague tomorrow, and be very careful considering where else to go.