Probability of decent Scottish winter conditions

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 sheelba 04 Feb 2020

I'm a teacher and so my main winter climbing activity is in the February half term. Over the last couple of years I've been wondering whether it was worth booking a trip up. Last year I had a trip organised but then conditions were so awful so I didn't bother going, thankfully I managed to arrange to do something else at short notice. The year before conditions were generally much better however that week there was a huge dump of snow followed by a rise in temperature and I only got a few routes in. This year I didn't bother at all and have arranged to do something else in advance but it did get me thinking how many good days of winter climbing could you expect to get on average in the secondish(ish) week in February.