Looking for a partner for a Winter Skills course

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Hugo Heagren 16 Oct 2019

Hi All, 

I'm fairly new to the world of climbing, and definitely new to this forum, so go easy. I would like to get into some (mostly Scottish) winter hill walking and climbing, hoping to build up slowly to some alpine routes. (if it's relevant to anyone: I'm 19 going on 20, male, pretty physically fit, spent lots of time outdoors, lots of sailing, walking, camping and bushcraft, boulder about a V5/6 at the moment, having got rusty over the summer)

I decided the best way to get into this would be a basic skills course, the longer and more involved/detailed the better, especially if it could possibly lean towards alpinism in the future. I think I've found exactly what I'm looking for in the five day course with Talisman Mountaineering: www.talisman-activities.co.uk/product-page/winter-mountaineering-course?fbclid=IwAR1SUpTFOZbrQZ_FH868UathvTKklD-qz5tqTlO2oTAhqlKXHfi-0cDwbD0/

Full details are available on the website, but essentially all technical equipment (except winter boots, so that includes ice axes, crampons, harness, ropes etc.) and tuition is included, but you have to supply your own food, accomodation, boots and warm clothing. The course takes place at Aviemore, in Scotland, and would run the 27th - 30th of December (ideally, these dates work best for me) or the 4th - 8th of January. It covers ice axes, crampons, some basic climbing techniques (like building snow belays) and all of the associated skills (avalanche awareness route planning etc.). The course itself  costs £550.

I need a partner to go with me on the course, someone who is also interested in learning, and who would also get something out of it. I very nearly found a partner previously through this wonderful forum, but unfortunately circumstances meant they weren't able to make the it, so I'm looking for someone else...