Ice Axe Self Belay on Neve (+alternatives)

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 timparkin 14 Feb 2018

A general question regarding the working envelope of ice axe self-belay on hard neve.

I'm a beginner at the winter conditions lark and although I've been on three multi-day winter walking courses but am intrigued at the overlap of certain recommendations. 

When walking on steeper neve, the recommendation is to position the axe in a self-belay position. However, the recommendation is also that your best chance is to stop your slip quickly before it turns into a slide. 

When the neve is hard enough that a self-belay axe spike plunge is iffy, would you be better off going straight to self-arrest position?

What sort of transition are we talking about? Do we need a good one or two centimeter penetration in order to self-belay?

I asked this on another forum and received multiple answers of "don't fall" but that suggests that using an axe in these conditions is pointless and you're better off using spiked walking poles to keep balance instead (i.e. look for advantages to stop falling rather than a safety net if you do fall). 

Thoughts?

Pay Attention 14 Feb 2018
In reply to timparkin:

Good question.  The points that you put forward are not opposed alternatives.  Yes, definitely stop your slip quickly before it becomes a slide.  To stop your slip quickly you may need to be prepared for it.  Being prepared may mean that you are ready to adopt an arrest position.  Does this make sense so far?

I'd assume that you'd be wearing crampons, as it's steep neve?

As regards the walking poles suggestion you received ... you'd need a Plan B if you did slip ....

Finally, no amount of self-arrest practice on easy slopes will prepare you for the racing slide if you do take off!