advise on winter rack and equipment

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 mauraman 26 Oct 2018

Having soloed a few gullies (scottish I/II) I have some experience on low grade winter climbing and, conditions permitting, this winter I would like to progress to grade III. I will be climbing with a partner of similar experience. I have upgraded to 2 DMM fly axes and front point crampons. I have a full trad rack but no protection for ice. Given that we will not climb waterfalls but more likely snow/ice/mixed, I would like to know if it is necessary buying and carrying a couple of ice screws or more, or something like bulldogs/ice hooks, or nothing at all. Are any of these a necessity or at this grade is still possible to mostly find protection and belays on rock?

Thanks! 

Post edited at 11:16
 Webster 26 Oct 2018
In reply to mauraman:

all depends on the route! i always vary my rack accordingly. at that grade you are starting to get routes with significant ice pitches which would warrent more than 1 screw if not a happy soloist. equally you can choose routes with no ice at all. i would definately recomend at least 1 bull dog/warthog/terrier/spectre for any scottish (brittish) mixed at any grade where using a rope, they are so versatile. but they are by no means essential at grade 3. its very easy to pick a pure rock route with ample gear at grade III somewhere like the northern corries.

OP mauraman 26 Oct 2018
In reply to Webster:

Thanks. So, assuming that it is quite difficult to know from guide books how much ice there is on a given route and where the ice pitches are (I suppose it varies each season), it will be advisable to carrie 3/4 ice screws minimum and a couple of ice hooks all the time, just in case?

subtle 26 Oct 2018
In reply to mauraman:

Ice screws are not cheap, but they can be a necessity.