Ice axe recommendations

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Scotserb 01 Mar 2023

Hi all, I'm new to winter climbing and am looking to get my own set of axes and cows tails.

Could anyone recommend a good set for predominantly mixed climbing in Scotland (Grade III - IV)?

Looking to find that magical ballance between weight, performance and price.

Post edited at 19:50
 Rampart 01 Mar 2023
In reply to Scotserb:

I was going to suggest some DMM Raptors, but a quick check suggests they don't do them anymore. So maybe the Apex instead,  or Vertex.

Or BD Venom?

wbo2 01 Mar 2023
In reply to Scotserb:

Quarks, BD Vipers or similar.  You can climb 4 with Venoms , or Vertex, but why make your life difficult?

CurlyStevo 01 Mar 2023
In reply to Scotserb:

Vipers are good and burly enough for mixed

beardy mike 01 Mar 2023
In reply to Scotserb:

Grivel North Machines. Best tool I've used for that kind of ground, nice and light, a perfect swing, excellent penetration on dense ice. I fitted Petzl Trigrests to mine although on easy ground you don't need them.

David Cowley 02 Mar 2023
In reply to Scotserb:

DMM Flys are a great all rounder. I've climbed lV 5 in them and know people who've climbed harder with them 

Suncream 02 Mar 2023
In reply to Scotserb:

This isn't a recommendation as such but if I were in the market for new tools now and were price sensitive I would try out the new Simond Mambas

Post edited at 13:19
 TobyA 02 Mar 2023
In reply to Suncream:

The do look excellent value don't they! They look very good anyway, but at the half the price of many of the competition they've got to be on to a winner.

DizzyVizion 02 Mar 2023
In reply to Scotserb:

Edelrid Riots (similar to Petzl Quarks).

A newer version of the Riot is about to hit the shelves so the last version (which I think has a nicer paint job) can be found a bit cheaper just now, while stocks last.