Electrical Advice needed for Outdoor Lighting

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.

So I'm trying to DIY a new outdoor light for my decking. I've no electrical experience but I recently built a new computer so not being completely incompetent I thought I'd give it a go. I bought a 30w LED outdoor light and a plug. 30w to my maths is 0.125A so I got a 3A plug, and wired it in. I went to test it and the light just began to illuminate, there was a faint pop, and it now does nothing.

I triple checked my wiring of the plug before testing so I don't think it can be that. I figure either somehow I've fried the light or its popped the fuse (which it shouldn't have done). 

Help!!!

Philip 12 Dec 2022
In reply to purplemonkeyelephant:

Link to the light? Was it a mains light or DC.

In reply to Philip:

https://amzn.eu/d/ftM94Gm

It doesnt explicitly say anywhere about power requirements anywhere, it just has a brown live, green and yellow earth and a blue neutral wire exposed at the end. I simply wired it to the plug as I figured it had the adapter in the light?

Maggot 12 Dec 2022

Looking at the crapazon link, I think you've just chucked some cash down the drain.

In reply to Maggot:

Are you saying I wired it correctly but the light sucks? What makes you think its a bad choice? Alternative brand suggestions? 

Hooo 12 Dec 2022

It looks like a standard cheap PIR lamp, I have something similar (which I had to repair after a year or two ). It should work the way you wired it. If it doesn't, send it back.  

In reply to Hooo:

Appreciate the feedback. Lamp feels solidly made, but I guess it's faulty. I just watched a video of a chap who wired his up to a 3 pin just like me and it worked fine so I guess it really is the light. 

Back it goes!

Maggot 12 Dec 2022

In reply to purplemonkeyelephant:  Page 3, Earth: GY, OK. N,Blue, OK.  Live/Line, Red!  Chinese tat which will just end up in landfill when you send it back.   Amazon   crap