Patagonia - expensive, sure, but profits go to good causes

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 MisterPiggy 15 Sep 2022

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2022/sep/14/patagonias-billionaire-owne...

So if we can afford their gear, we can also feel good about where their profits go. A good effort, I think.

ianstevens 15 Sep 2022
In reply to MisterPiggy:

It’s also not cheaply made garbage, so lasts more than 5 uses. I’ve still got Patagonia stuff I have been using for 10+ years, whilst most of my other kit from that time has died.

NathanP 15 Sep 2022
In reply to ianstevens:

And they really mean it about the lifetime guarantee and repairing things for free.

Flinticus 15 Sep 2022
In reply to MisterPiggy:

Opps hadn't seen your post. 

midgen 15 Sep 2022
In reply to MisterPiggy:

Definitely makes me more inclined to buy their gear, sadly it just doesn't tend to fit me well, but I'll try it on next time I'm buying!

neilh 15 Sep 2022
In reply to MisterPiggy:

Pata gucci.

Bit a of a lifestyle brand.Its when you are wondering around say Chicago and you see their shops in trendy hip affluent parts of American big citys you get to understand the brilliant marketing.

Its still good hard wearing stuff though

Godwin 15 Sep 2022
In reply to NathanP:

I have never bought any, put off by the price, however your posting suggests that over its life time it may prove to be be good value. Also (social science phrase here, sorry) maybe buying cheaper less ethical stuff, is externalising a cost, I the end consumer should be paying.

Is it actually expensive, in the long run?

galpinos 15 Sep 2022
In reply to neilh:

That was Rose Macario's influence. If they wanted to influence the market, they had to have a big enough market share. So they changed their approach. They've gone for an ethical company no-one outside of climbing cared about to getting written about in the NYT.

You may see that as selling out, I see that as making a difference.