Ski Mountaineering- where to start

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Tucker266 25 Nov 2021

Hi - great forum. I want to throw myself into some ski mountaineering over the course of this winter. I’ve got some background in other adventure sports - kitesurfing and trail running etc. and am decent piste skier - but acknowledge I have a lot to learn! 

Based in London but with Camper-van and able to get to Alps or Scotland from time to time. I’ve seen some good ski - mo courses being run in Scotland but all seem to be booked up until we’ll into the NY. 

Any tips? What would you do if you were just starting out - but had a bit of time to throw at it and were slightly impatient to make progress? 

Thanks in advance! 

cb294 25 Nov 2021
In reply to Tucker266:

Same as with climbing: Start at the bottom, move upwards. When reaching the top, turn around and go down again.

Sorry, could not resist.

For a more serious answer, the skiing is not the main issue, but avalanche safety and judging snow conditions very much is. Personally, I am not a great fan of organized courses, and would suggest trying to find more experienced partners with whom you can tag along.

CB

Doug 25 Nov 2021
In reply to Tucker266:

Try the Eagle Ski Club (https://www.eagleskiclub.org.uk/ )

summo 25 Nov 2021
In reply to Tucker266:

Learn to nordic ski, it'll develop a good glide and kick, combine with your piste skiing (which you'll need to develop to off piste) and the world's your oyster! 

It's a slow game, it will take a couple seasons to become proficient, but learning good skills through slightly repetitive drills early on will pay dividends in the years to come. 

In reply to Tucker266:

As other have said it a mix of skills you need to build up.