UKC

ARTICLE: Understanding and Managing the High-Altitude Environment

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 UKC Articles 24 Sep 2021

Stephen Taylor explores the challenges that living and moving in high-altitude environments present to the human body and how to manage them...

Read more

Michael Gordon 24 Sep 2021
In reply to UKC Articles:

A lot of interesting info there. I've tried to make headway with the "there's just as much oxygen, but in percentage terms there isn't", but I'm struggling. If oxygen takes up 21% of a given volume of air at sea level but is around half of that at 5000m, does this mean there is a higher percentage of nitrogen accounting for the rest?

JayW 24 Sep 2021
In reply to Michael Gordon:

I'm not a scientist, but I believe it's to do with density, i.e. the air composition doesn't change but just becomes less dense as you go higher, meaning less availability of o2. Someone will correct me no doubt if that's not right. 

In reply to JayW:

But if the percentage of oxygen per volume of air decreases, this suggests that the air composition does change? 

Sean Kelly 24 Sep 2021