Best mens pants to avoid chafing

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.

As per title. Any recommendations please.

Levy_danny 03 Mar 2021
In reply to pancakeandchips:

Pants as in underpants or trousers? 

For me I find the shorts with the mesh in or lycra undershorts with some ultraglide if going for a longer run. 

If I wear underpants they can get sweaty, bunch up and chafe. 

In reply to Levy_danny:

Underpants. I'm pretty new to running and I've been wearing some ronhill leggings over the winter. I've got some cheap decathlon running boxers I've been wearing underneath which works fine on shorter runs but further than 10k starts to be a problem. Dya reckon just go commando in the leggings then? Worth a shot I suppose.

Andy Johnson 03 Mar 2021

> just go commando in the leggings then?

Leggings won't provide much support. Potentially painful.

Denning76 03 Mar 2021

Lot a chat about that Runderwear brand of late. No clue if they are any good though.

As for pants under leggings, I've never done it and never had a problem going commando.

Post edited at 14:03
cb294 03 Mar 2021

Craft underpants with the six inch legs for me. Sufficent "front stabilization", and a long and reasonably tight fit around the thighs to prevent chafing around the thighs.

CB

Nic Barber 03 Mar 2021

Marks and Sparks hipster brief type things. Have lasted me for years. Tbf any underwear that's not too baggy seems to suit me, cotton or more man made. Running-specific pants strike me as more marketing innovation that development innovation, but have never tried them!

If the shorts come with integral supportive lycra/knicker lining I can go commando, but sometimes the material/seams can be a bit rough on the old danglies so I wear budgie smugglers for more protections