Mountain bike advice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Tim Lowe 14 Jan 2021

Looking for opinions/advice from knowledgeable mountain bikers please. 
I’m trying to choose between these two bikes:

Specialized Rockhopper Expert 29 

Whyte 905 v3

both are a very similar price but I’m not a technical expert so if you know what you’re talking about I would greatly appreciate your opinions. 
Thanks

Tim

Post edited at 16:45
 mondite 14 Jan 2021
In reply to Tim Lowe:

Whyte 903? Thought they just had the 901, 905 and 909.

Standard advice is to try and ride them though

OP Tim Lowe 14 Jan 2021
In reply to mondite:

Sorry typo 905

TheGeneralist 14 Jan 2021
In reply to Tim Lowe:

Have you checked stock?

Standard current answer to "what bike to buy" is "anything you can find with a delivery before June.

Post edited at 16:47
 crustypunkuk 14 Jan 2021
In reply to Tim Lowe:

Having owned a previous gen 905 i may be slightly biased, but they're great bikes. Progressive geometry, good spec level and fun to ride. Spesh bikes are decent, but you pay more for less.

Good luck getting hold of either at the moment though!

OP Tim Lowe 14 Jan 2021
In reply to TheGeneralist:I’m going to have to order it but that’s no problem as I have one to use in the interim 

OP Tim Lowe 14 Jan 2021
In reply to crustypunkuk: Thanks for the advice 

Jim Lancs 14 Jan 2021
In reply to Tim Lowe:

You need to tell us what you want to do with it.  Or what sort of riding appeals?

That price point is very competitive and places like Decathlon will sell you a full suspension 29er for the same price and similar spec that might be way more suitable for some types of riding you might fancy.

OP Tim Lowe 14 Jan 2021