Glue recommendations for soft shell seam repair

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 SiWood 08 Jan 2021

Can anyone recommend a fabric glue for repair of seams around zip pockets on soft shell trousers. There seem to be lots of fabric glues on the market but a lot of reviews that they don’t work.

Any first hand recommendations won’t be sniffed at !!

mcawle 08 Jan 2021
In reply to SiWood:

Why wouldn't you stitch it? Could then reinforce with seam grip if you wanted to strengthen or seal it.

OP SiWood 08 Jan 2021
In reply to mcawle:

The pockets are currently glued not stitched so wanted to do like for like. 

Stitching would be a possibility if glue not possible

Post edited at 20:02
 mcawle 08 Jan 2021
In reply to SiWood:

Oh okay. Don't know if I've seen that before so a bit hard to visualise. I'd stitch it because I can't envisage a glued pocket staying glued (as you've found). Not that I'm an expert by any stretch, it's just what I've always done for repairs. Could try a combination of seam grip and tenacious tape perhaps depending on what exactly needs sticking back together.

Dark-Cloud 08 Jan 2021
In reply to SiWood:

I would imagine it’s heat sealed on rather than glued, I have had a few patch pockets start to peel off older mid layers, I just don’t bother and pull them off then use without the pocket.

If you really want to repair stitching will be the only reliable option.

Removed User 09 Jan 2021
In reply to Dark-Cloud:

> I would imagine it’s heat sealed on rather than glued, I have had a few patch pockets start to peel off older mid layers, I just don’t bother and pull them off then use without the pocket.

> If you really want to repair stitching will be the only reliable option.

This. Any bonding agent will heat sealed to above what a hot wash would be and a pain in the ass to achieve and possibly leave a scratchy, hardened residue.