Bouldering mat

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Josh Nicoll 02 Nov 2020

Hi. Im new to outdoor bouldering (Ive been indoor climbing for a while) 

I'm guessing i really need to get a bouldering pad (To avoid ridicule il pretend I've not gone out a few times without one)

I looked at the alpkit waffa and I was wondering if this is any good? Im a beginner and dont have a lot of money haha. 

Andy Johnson 02 Nov 2020
In reply to Josh Nicoll:

I've not used the Waffa, but given its limited size and thickness it doesn't seem like it would provide much protection on its own. As the Alpkit website says, its designed to protect "sit starts and low traverses", so you probably need to be looking a more of a full-side pad.

I bough an Alpkit Origin over the summer. This was my first bouldering pad and I'm very happy with it, but I'm hardly an experienced outdoor boulderer. If you're looking for something lower cost, maybe the Phud might be a good compromise.

Post edited at 11:42
In reply to Josh Nicoll:

Moon Warrior, bang for buck it's the best out there.

Kryank 02 Nov 2020
In reply to Euan McKendrick:

Yeah +1 for the Moon Warrior, a great pad and not too expensive in comparison to the other similar offerings, for a far better pad in my opinion.

ianstevens 02 Nov 2020
In reply to Euan McKendrick:

Also £180, when the OP is clearly looking to not spend a big pile of money having proposed a £35 mat.