Whiplash from slipping with trekking poles?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 heleno 14 Jul 2020

I've over 30 years of climbing and walking experience, but I've only recently started using trekking poles - to reduce knee pain when carrying heavy loads.  I've recently sustained an injury which I think may be due to the use of poles, and wondered if anyone has experienced anything similar?

I was walking down a steep path from a crag, carrying a heavy sack of climbing gear, and using my poles on firm mud to steady myself.  I accidentally stepped on a hidden wet tree root and my legs shot down the steep path.  The poles stopped me falling further, but I felt a strange jolt through my spine, and a few hours later I started to experience pain in my (usually very healthy) lower back.

It's still causing me considerable discomfort 3 days later, and I'm wondering if it's some sort of whiplash injury from the poles, since I didn't actually hit the ground.  I can't remember clearly, but it's possible that as the path was so steep, I had the heels of my hands on top of the pole handles, rather than gripping round them.  Perhaps something to avoid in future?

Has anyone done anything similar?  And if so, did it resolve itself or did you need medical / physio treatment?

colinakmc 14 Jul 2020
In reply to heleno:

Sounds like a reasonable chance it’s just muscular strain from a sudden unexpected stress. If it was me (& I spend a large part of my life with lower back pain) I’d take anti inflammatories for a day or two and if it persists, go and see a physio.

Good luck with it anyway

mysterion 14 Jul 2020
In reply to heleno:

Sounds like the jolt you get from 'missing a step'. There won't be a lot of forces from something like that so just keep good posture and give it time, lying down completely flat is the ultimate recovery position for a back injury.

OP heleno 16 Jul 2020
In reply to heleno:

Thanks both!