Non-climbing author needs your expert advice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
CrimeAuthorAndy 26 Mar 2020

I hope climbers in this community can help me. I am a crime author, but not a climber, and I need some help.

In my latest book, the lead character loses his wife in a climbing accident. I know what I want the outcome to be, but according to my editor, I have got *all* the terminology etc wrong!

Here is the scenario I need. How it happens is where you can, I hope, help me.

A man and his wife, both experienced climbers (though he has more climbs under his belt than her) are climbing in the Peak District in the UK. I'm thinking Hen Cloud.

He is leading.

I need her to fall away from the rock or come adrift somehow so she is dangling beneath him from a rope.

I need the gear anchoring him to the rock to be working loose. He sees this and realises he can't hold her.

She realises he can’t pull her up and demands he cut the rope joining them so she will die but he will live and be able to raise their young son. The alternative is they both die and he grows up an orphan.

Here is the way I have drafted it. Apparently all the terminology and gear names are wrong!

How would you suggest I fix it?

Wall hammer in hand, Ford looks down at Lou and smiles.

As the more experienced climber, he always leads. They’ve chosen Windgather again. It’s their favourite climb in the Peak District. Today they’re trying a new route he’s had his eye on for a while. He’ll probably end up grading it as an E4. It’s Lou’s birthday in a few weeks and he’s decided to name it ‘Louisa’s Squeezer ’.

He squints against the bright sunshine as a light wind buffets him, and he hammers each new piton into the rock. Twenty feet below, Lou’s dug her resined fingertips into cracks in the sheer rockface.