Do I have to use a quickdraw with a cam/friend?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 geoffwhite 21 Oct 2019

Hi, I'm fairly new to trad, and I've got a query about using cams/friends.

Do I need to use a quickdraw with them? They already have webbing on them, and I clip them to my harness using a wire gate carabiner of the same rating I use on my quickdraws. Does that mean I can clip the rope directly into the carabiner on the cam? Why would I use a quickdraw?

Any advice? Thanks!

Jon Read 21 Oct 2019
In reply to geoffwhite:

Yes you can just clip the rope in the carabiner with the cam. You would look to extend the runner with a quickdraw or sling to avoid rope drag (placement is off to the side, or is under a roof, for example) or to prevent movement of the rope helping the cam 'walk' into the crack (and possibly getting stuck).

kathrync 21 Oct 2019
In reply to geoffwhite:

You can clip directly into the wire gate.  However, unless your route is straight up I would recommend extending with a quickdraw.  This will reduce rope-drag on routes that wander around, making it easier for you to climb, and reducing the chance that tension through the rope will tug your cam around causing it to "walk" into a position that it is difficult to remove it from or lifting it out of its placement completely.

Some cams have extendable slings.  I would always extend these, and sometimes add a quickdraw as well depending on the route.  For cams with fixed slings, I would normally just add a quickdraw as a matter of course, unless it is a straight up route and I am running short of draws.

Coel Hellier 21 Oct 2019
In reply to kathrync:

> Some cams have extendable slings.  I would always extend these, and sometimes add a quickdraw as well depending on the route.