Scarpa Arpia: Do my shoes fit?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
TomLangleyBallinger 05 Jun 2019

Hi,

I’m relatively new to climbing and I’ve been bouldering probably 10-15 times now. I’m fed up of using hire shoes so decided to buy some of my own. I first bought some La Sportiva’s and they hurt my toes a lot so I just have gotten the wrong size. When trying on shoes I tried on a pair of Scarpa’s that felt a lot more comfortable.

I decided I wanted to buy some Scarpa shoes. After researching their collection I decided to get the new Arpia shoe. 

My street size is 10-10.5 UK. I ordered a pair of 44s. Which should be around 9.5-10 I was told. They arrived today and my left foot is actually a little bigger than my right but on both feet my toes are a little bit bunched up. 

Is this okay? Will I get used to it? Will the shoes stretch a bit? Having never bought climbing shoes properly before and only using terrible hire shoes I don’t know what to do.

The shoes are comfortable - very comfortable. But definitely restricts toe movement and they can’t extend all the way is this normal? The toes are quite bunched

If I decide to go climbing in them is there a way to make them fit a bit better? 

Any help and ideas will be appreciated 

thanks 

MischaHY 05 Jun 2019
In reply to TomLangleyBallinger:

Sounds totally normal to me. Toes should sit 'crimped' in climbing shoes meaning the toe is curved over to provide more power at the point of the shoe. 

LGraham 05 Jun 2019

I have a pair one size down from normal shoes. They’ve stretched maybe half a size. 

In reply to MischaHY:

Thank you, 

I decided to climb in them today to see how they would turn out. Really comfy but I did have to take off my left shoe a couple of times because my toe was in some pain.

at the end of my sessions nail had a line in it. Do you think this is normal for first time use/breaking in. I think it will take a good few sessions for me to get used to them.