Scotland's mountain flora being killed by cars

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Removed User 11 Dec 2018

NO2 (nitrogen dioxide) from vehicle exhausts is causing the balance of flora on many of Scotland's hills to alter.

https://theferret.scot/exhaust-nitrogen-mountain-plants/?utm_source=push

Despite being a mechanical engineer I do look forward to the not so distant future when cars will run on electricity, quietly and cleanly.

In reply to Removed User:

> I do look forward to the not so distant future when cars will run on electricity, quietly and cleanly.

Steam-powered cars as my electrical engineer friend calls them.

wercat 12 Dec 2018

The Hebrides by Helium Zeppelin, imagine

less picturesquely I get extremely upset at the buses running their big diesels endlessly in the Cairngorm Mountain Ski carpark.   The fumes are enough to cause a tickly cough far up in the hills.

Post edited at 09:16
 IainL 12 Dec 2018

Where does the NO2 on Bidean come from? Bidean is S of Glencoe. The prevailing wind is SW. The biggest concentration of traffic to the S is Dublin. You can get readings of anything once you start measuring in parts per billion. Petrol also emits NO2 despite catalytic convertors.

The biggest poluting vehicles in cities are buses and taxis. Have a look at Hope Street in Glasgow. Very few cars and nose to tail buses idling at bus-stops or crawling up the hill at 5mph.

machine 12 Dec 2018