Climbing Literature needed

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 CoraS 01 Nov 2018

Hi guys,

I'm studying English Literature and am moving on to my final thesis soon. I would like to write something along the lines of: "Literary/Poetic approaches to climbing".

I am now looking for books that you can recommend which talk about climbing in some sort of poetic fashion (not the "How to train" or "Guide to climb mountain/rock x")

Best are books from British authors, then everything in English and then everything else.

If you know films or clips that also contribute to the topic, I'm happy to take a look.

Thank you so much in advance. :-D

Greenbanks 01 Nov 2018
In reply to CoraS:

'Native Stones' by David Craig would be a good starting point...

Nige M 01 Nov 2018
In reply to CoraS:

'Climbers' by M. John Harrison. A proper novel. More in the camp of "gritty" than "poetic".

In reply to CoraS:

The Mammoth Book of ON THE EDGE is a compilation of 25 different extracts from a wide range of mountaineering books and could be an interesting place to start.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Mammoth-Book-Edge-Books/dp/1845299248

My favourite chapter is The Devil's Thumb by Jon Krakauer.

petenebo 01 Nov 2018
In reply to CoraS:

A Dream of White Horses - Ed Drummond - should suit your purposes.

adam clarke 01 Nov 2018
In reply to CoraS:

Another vote for Drummond's 'A Dream of White Horses'. You might also want to check out some of Dermot Somers's work, such as 'Mountains and Other Ghosts'; and 'At the Rising of the Moon'

Rob Parsons 01 Nov 2018

> I'm studying English Literature and am moving on to my final thesis soon. I would like to write something along the lines of: "Literary/Poetic approaches to climbing".

> I am now looking for books that you can recommend which talk about climbing in some sort of poetic fashion (not the "How to train" or "Guide to climb mountain/rock x")