Chalk cliff climbing protection advice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Alex Edge 12 Oct 2018

I would like to start doing some trad chalk cliff climbing (with ice tools, crampons etc.). I have read that this requires warthogs for protection but I can find little online about this. Are there any other options for pro that are less expensive? Would some more pointy pitons or maybe tomahawks be suitable?

sorry for the probably stupid question, I have no experience beyond the conventional uk trad gear.

thanks for any help

JimmAwelon 12 Oct 2018
In reply to Alex Edge:

Warthogs and hooks are about your best cosmetic protection to help with the headgame. Get a lump hammer for 'placing' it but you seriously don't want to have a fall on it. There is plenty on line:

http://leeharrisonclimbing.blogspot.com/2016/03/a-guide-to-climbing-at-dove...

http://www.climbers-club.co.uk/cms/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/chalk.pdf

http://timhowelladventure.com/do-you-need-chalk-to-climb-chalk-white-cliffs...

https://ipswich-m-c.co.uk/chalking-it-up-to-experience/

The local guidebooks have info as does this site and the BMC Regional Access Database; check tides too and I think calls to the coastguard are still necessary in most locations.

OP Alex Edge 12 Oct 2018
In reply to JimmAwelon:

thanks mate, this is very useful

In reply to Alex Edge:

Sorry to piss on your parade, but isn't this pretty irresponsible ?

Not being argumentative, but think about Point Five/ Zero etc, at the end of a season, getting put into deep freeze at the end of a season, wheeled out next season, no new coverage, how long would they last?

As an Old Git, I don't believe that just because you can, you should.

Would love to hear what Mick Fowler's views on this would be 20+ years on......

OP Alex Edge 12 Oct 2018
In reply to Ade in Sheffield: