Map drawing software

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Andy Johnson 30 Sep 2018

I'm pondering a project that would involve drawing some maps of a landscape that is described in a work of fiction (written by a proper author, not me). I'd need to create some simple OS- style topographic maps, and also some plans of streets and maybe buildings.

I'm a rubbish artist. Can anyone recommend some software that might allow me to produce consistent results? I've found software for generating fantasy Tolkein-style maps but that's not really the visual style that I want. What should I be considering?

wintertree 30 Sep 2018
In reply to Andy Johnson:

Pen and paper!  The best maps I’ve ever made (not saying much) were done that way.  

There are a lot of editors and graphics generating packages with different and customisable styles for openstreetmap but it’s a bit of a learning curve!  

My suspicion is fake contours are going to really suck to make look good except freehand inking or tracing over sketches.  You might look in to “procedural” terrain generation and then contour generation with GDAL.

What’s your budget?

You could throw something together using Illustrator or Corel Draw. Both are vector editing apps, messing around with them could produce some nice, professional looking images. Use the layers to stack different elements (contours on one layer for example, topography on another)

If you don't have access to these then Inkscape is free but I dont know how to use that.

cander 30 Sep 2018

There is a military simulation game called Armed Assault, if I recall it has an add on that is a terrain generator called Visitor 3 contained in BI tools 2.5 , that might be useful for you as it allows you to make your own islands from scratch. 

Jack B 30 Sep 2018

These maps:

https://opentopomap.org/#map=13/56.79975/-5.00856

https://www.openstreetmap.org/#map=13/56.8008/-5.0183&layers=C