Lake District Multipitch for Beginner?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Northern Star 02 Jul 2018

So I'm planning on taking a friend climbing later this week to the Lakes.  He's a relative beginner, has done a little bit of easy indoor stuff and can belay okay but has never climbed outdoors. 

With most of my UK climbing restricted to N.Wales and the Peak District then I've very little knowledge of Lakeland crags.  Was thinking Bowfell Buttress as it's a route that might give a bit of a fuller day out (including the walk in and out) without ever being that difficult.  But then I read that there's a pitch of HS near the top - totally fine for me but still fine for a beginner?

What do you think?  Any alternative multipitch routes we could be looking at (Diff to VDiff).  South Lakes much preferred as we need to be in Lancaster by the evening.

mrphilipoldham 02 Jul 2018
In reply to Northern Star:

Middlefell Buttress, good climbing, not too far from the road and once you’re back in to Windermere then it’s an easy drive out to Lancaster.

Tony Jones 02 Jul 2018

Middlefell Buttress, Raven Crag Langdale.

It's a Diff, and very straightforward, with the choice of an abb off or continuing up Curtain Wall (also Diff) and descending carefully to the left (just needs a bit of care my daughter did it when she was ten).

And you can be in the bar of the Old Dungeon Ghyll within thirty minutes of topping out.

Post edited at 19:03
 C Witter 03 Jul 2018

Middlefell Buttress is boring (and won't take you more than 2hrs up and down) and Bowfell is a long walk - though steady, even for a beginner. If you do go to Raven Crag, though, you might enjoyRevelation (HS 4b) - which is pretty steady climbing, mostly on big holds. Or, you could do Middlefell then head to Gimmer for Asterisk (VS 4b), 'D' Route (S 4a) and then perhaps to Harrison Stickle for Treasure (S). One advantage of this is no belay faff, as there are large ledges.