Looking for 2 mountains to walk up.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Eddie Fennell 21 May 2018

Interested in finding 2 mountains to walk up, a days drive away, close together so we can put the tent up once and walk to them, 2000 to 3500 ish. Anyone have any suggestions? Complete beginner, have done Scaffel, Snowden and Ben Nevis, and looking for easy climbs to see how I am with altitude. Cheers!!

In reply to Eddie Fennell:

A day's drive away from where?

T.

Paz 21 May 2018

A day's drive from where?  2000m to 3500m?  Are you using a guide or independent?  On the beaten track or off it?  What time of year?

Anyway, the Alps aren't just all about Mont Blanc, they have excellent transport links, civilisation and even culture!  And if you include the outlying smaller hills, peaks from 2000 feet right up to 3500m.  There's loads of walking in Austria, Slovenia, probably even places like Poland and Russia too. 

You just need to do your own homework before you book flights and check whether any peak will probably meet your criteria of "bang on", and not "way too hardcore" or " a boring trudge up a big grassy mound"

You're after a trekking peak, so I guess you don't want a rock peak, but how are you with snow?  Above some kind of threshold altitude in the Alps you'll get snow.

If you just want the altitude tick, you can find mountains that start from altitude, like in Bolivia, or if you want none of that as it's totally cheating then Kilimanjaro has one of the biggest "ascent from Base Camp"/ sea level altitude gains, and is scenic and a travel destination in its own right.  But take your time to a void a common side effect (death) and hire a guide if you need one.

Post edited at 20:46
 john arran 21 May 2018
In reply to Paz: