Camper van: tips for UK road trip!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Kean 07 Mar 2018

Hi there, I'm an ex pat Brit climber (living in Italy for the past 20 years). I'm looking to rent a camper van & have a UK-based holiday...renting the camper van in the SE and heading to west country, then S and N Wales.

I've no experience of using camper vans & looking for some general info:

Any suggestions on renting? I'll be based in Kent the week before & then ideally want to rent a camper van as close as possible to Maidstone/Ashford.

What's the deal with just parking up in a car park/lay-by and sleeping there for the night? Is that generally "the done thing" or do councils clamp down on it??

I've seen in Italy there are kind of free-access public "Eco centres" where van users can dump toilet waste & take on fresh water...anything similar in the UK?

Any idea of a ball-park figure for how much we're likely to pay at official camp sites?

Any other tips???

Thanks in advance for any info

Andy Johnson 07 Mar 2018
In reply to Kean:

> What's the deal with just parking up in a car park/lay-by and sleeping there for the night? Is that generally "the done thing" or do councils clamp down on it??

Doable in Scotland and maybe the more remote parts of Wales, otherwise no. Southern England and Wales is quite densely populated and you're quite likely to me moved on. Hie companies may also not approve. Use a proper campsite.

> I've seen in Italy there are kind of free-access public "Eco centres" where van users can dump toilet waste & take on fresh water...anything similar in the UK?

My experience of campervan rental is limited, but I don't think such facilities are available here. Some villages still have public toilets that might have a tap for drinking water, but thats fairly rare.

> Any idea of a ball-park figure for how much we're likely to pay at official camp sites?

£25+ ish depending on vehicle size, location, time of year.