"Cold-chain management" - any experience?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Pan Ron 05 Feb 2018

Bit of a long-shot here, but somewhat suspect there will be some expertise on UKC.

I've got a second round interview in a few days, that I've just been told will focus on, among other things, questions on "cold-chain management".  

The post will likely involve handling of pharma materials in tropical climates, so that's probably where the question is coming from.  But I think it was obvious in the first-round interview I have zero experience of this and hadn't even heard of the term until about 10 minutes ago.  I'm suspecting either the interview will be a disaster, or they are well aware I know nothing about the subject and looking for quick learning ability.

So, aside from an obvious trip to Wikipedia and a few pages of Google searches, does anyone have any advice on how I could possibly approach answering a question like this?  Anyone with experiences/disasters when dealing with cold-chain management?  Ideas about pitfalls or possibly issues that might not appear on a cursory web-cramming session on the subject?

Any help would be much appreciated!

iknowfear 05 Feb 2018
In reply to David Martin:

Without much knowledge (a few passing sentences in uni in a lecture in which I had a window seat some years ago), I think proof of cold chain integrity was paramount. Back then, this was done with lables (think the stuff that used to be on poultry, with tree color codes indicating the max temp that was reached), I recon now there should be heaps of new stuff with smart-sensors, RFID labels and such.  (although, for tropical climates in developing countries low tech might be better suited) 

Anyway, best of luck for your interview!

Pan Ron 05 Feb 2018
In reply to iknowfear:

Great, thanks for that.  This is much more information than I knew already, so its all helpful.

alx 05 Feb 2018
In reply to David Martin:

Hi David