Can anyone explain humidity to me?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.

Hi All,

What does 100% humidity mean?

What is a low and high humidity percentage?

Where I plan to climb tomorrow has predicted 90% humidity... does that mean it will be ming?

What if its windy, surely that makes a difference, is that built into the percentage?

I've had a trawl of past threads and although there are some, none seem to really explain how humidity works.  Also, as a geography teacher I'm sure at some point I may get asked about it by a student but its not an area I have ever studied.

Thanks for your potentially wise and non sarcastic responses!

SSB

Post edited at 12:46
baron 26 Jan 2018
In reply to Somerset swede basher:

As a geography teacher you're probably aware of 'Geography, an integrated approach' by David Waugh.

Invaluable for staying one page ahead of those inquisitive students and has a useful section on humidity, etc.

In reply to baron:

I do indeed.  I understand the basic idea that its a measure of how much moisture the air is holding compared to how much water it could hold.  I'll take a look in Waugh this pm and see what it says.

defaid 26 Jan 2018

Absolute humidity is the amount of water vapour in the air. More useful though, and almost universally quoted, is relative humididty. That takes the temperature into account too.

Basically, it's a measure of how likely the water vapour in the air is to condense so 100% humidity has the vapour forming droplets and 0% has no water vapour at all.

You'll understand that a certain physical quantity of water vapour is more likely to condense in cold air than it is in warm air (similar to the fogging of a cold camera lens when it comes into a warm room).