Can I gave away my retired equipment?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Jamie Wakeham 08 Jan 2018
As a follow-up to a recent thread (https://www.ukhillwalking.com/forums/t.php?t=676912) I have a slightly different question. I'm an instructor, and I have a number of harnesses and helmets which have just gone past their ten year recommended maximum lifespan.

They've had a very gentle life - I bought them when I thought I was going to spend a lot of time working with school groups and it didn't pan out that way. They have had between 20 and 50 outdoor uses each and have been stored in a cool, dark, dry location.

Obviously I cannot use them professionally any more. Neither can I sell them. But, can I give them away? For example, I would like to give one to a competent climbing friend as a spare harness/helmet set for a novice second. If I make a very clear statement that they are past their manufacturer's recommended lifespan and the recipient must evaluate if they are still safe to use, am I still liable to be held responsible for any failure?

I fear that the answer is yes, it is my job to render them unusable as they are PPE. But I'd be interested to hear views.
 planetmarshall 08 Jan 2018
In reply to Jamie Wakeham:

You could donate it to http://greenpeakgear.org/ . They repurpose ('upcycle') or recycle the gear so there's no safety issue.
 HeMa 08 Jan 2018

I'm not an expert in British juridics... But since it owuld be the business that gives them out, you might be held responsible.

Greenpeak gear is a good option (at least it sounds like one).

Same thing would be perhaps the idea of choppin' off the footloops and donating to dog shelters etc. The "swami" belt is rather good for walking numerous dogs... or perhaps as a DIY sled harness...

No idea of the brainlids... but perhaps some local clubs might be interested (again, no idea of juristical implications).
 john arran 08 Jan 2018

This is not a sensible suggestion, but ...