Boots help for a novice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
IvanLi 03 Jan 2018
Hello, everyone!

I am a novice climber. This past summer I started hiking/trekking and did some sport climbs as well as a couple short multi-pitch routes and I am completely hooked on it.
I am looking forward to trying the bigger stuff in the Alps and reading the route descriptions meanwhile.
What I noticed is that the routes are classified into different types, eg Kuffner Ridge on Mont Maudit is more of a snow/ice/mixed route, while Hornli Ridge is a rock climbing route. Due to the mountain environment they are both done in the mountaineering boots and not rock shoes.
From my personal experience it is hard to imagine how one could climb rock in heavy bulky boots as opposed to the rock shoes.
So my question to the experienced guys, - how do you climb rock in mountain boots and do you use the same boots for say Mont Blanc and Matterhorn? If you do, what kind of model would you recommend?

PS: I realize there are also double boots used for the high-altitude alpinism, but that's a different story, here I am just asking about the climbs in the Alps.

Thanks a lot in advance.
 Andy Hardy 03 Jan 2018
In reply to IvanLi:

Hi Ivan
I'm not the most experienced alpinist, but the routes I have done, the rock climbing part is pretty low grade (mostly) - certainly less than Severe. If I were you I'd try some classic summer scrambles / easy rock routes in your alpine boots, something like Tower Ridge on the Ben or Sun-Cneiffon Rib in Idwal. I would probably use the same boots for the Hornli and the Gouter Routes but assess it on a route by route basis
 tingle 03 Jan 2018
In reply to IvanLi:

Im not as experienced as most on here but:

The sport climbs and multi pitch routes you have done will probably be far far more *technically* difficult than climbing these F-AD routes.