Recommendations and Advice for winter gear (Cairngorms)

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
ConnorMak 29 Nov 2017
Hi All,

I was just seeking advice on some gear to take or any recommendations any of you have. I am travelling to the Cairngorms in Feb for a winter skills course with my local MR team (I am a novice in winter walking/climbing but would like to do more after this course). We have been given a brief kit list most of which i am fine with, just got a few queries.

What layering system should I use for my bottom half? What trousers are best a one layer waterproof or a soft shell with a waterproof over trouser?

We have been advised to take a rucksack between 45-50L with dry bags, in your experience is it better to take one big dry bag (around 45L) or is it better to take multiple smaller ie. one 20L one 10L and one 5L?

And can anyone recommend good snow goggles?

One last question is for a mid layer what do you think is best for the Scottish winter either a soft shell jacket or fleece, or should i go for more of an insulating jacket that is non-down?

I'm only a young pup with very little winter experience and a limited budget, but i can fork abit more cash if it means getting a good piece of kit that will last.

Many Thanks,
Connor
 DaveHK 29 Nov 2017
In reply to ConnorMak:

What have you got just now that might do? Bog standard fleeces and base layers will be fine to start with. You'll probably be ok with long johns + hillwalking trousers + waterproofs on your legs.
ConnorMak 29 Nov 2017
In reply to DaveHK:

Im abit lacking on the gear front in the sense that i could do with a good pair of waterproof bottoms, i was looking at maybe a pair of Rab vapour rise trousers, would these be okay with just a single layer (long johns) underneath?

In terms of mid layer i have a couple of fleeces but i dont mind spending on a good mid layer as then ive got one if i do indeed start more winter walking/climbing.
 jonnie3430 29 Nov 2017