North Wales this weekend - weather/objectives

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Phil79 23 Nov 2017
Myself and a few friends have plans to go to North Wales this weekend to do some walking/scambling, and I've got some questions that I'm sure those with more experience could advise on.

We're a mixed ability group. I've got plenty of trad climbing experience but very little hill walking or scrambling. One of the other chaps has lots of mountain walking/scrambling experience, and the other two have some limited hill walking under their belt (have both done Snowdon horseshoe previously).

Weather looks like it could be pretty rubbish on Saturday (dropping temps, potentially high winds, some snow/hail). Original plan had been to go and do Tryfan (North ridge) and potentially on up Bristly Ridge to Glyder Fach and down Y Gribin, or cut short and back down after Tryfan if weather is bad.

Is this a ridiculous objective given forecast/ability? It would seem not to my mind, but the forecast has me a little worried.

We'll be properly equipped in terms of clothes, emergency kit, head touches etc. and happy to turn back if things look dodgy.

Would an alternative be better (Moel Siabod?) .

Thanks in advance for the flaming and/or useful advice
 Mike Peacock 23 Nov 2017
In reply to Phil79:

I'd probably suggest avoiding Tryfan. You say your group have limited scrambling experience, bar one. The North Ridge can be a confusing place in bad weather if you're unfamiliar with it, and retreat is not always easy (lots seem to wander onto the east or west faces by mistake). The ridge gets more committing towards the top. Similarly, if you do get to the top finding your way down the South Ridge can be tricky if the mist is down. The forecast looks pretty wild at the moment.