Newbie trying for SPA

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Lmc 14 Sep 2017
Hello,

I am a freelance kayak coach but looking to broaden my skill set to make me more attractive to centres/providers. I have been advised that SPA is beneficial but have literally no experience with any form of climbing.

Anyone able to offer some advice about how long it might take (very roughly) to get from my clueless state to SPA standard?

I am aware this is not something I can rush through and is a long term plan but I want to get started over the Autumn/winter seasons when I have the most free time.

My plan is to initially start intro to climb course at local wall and try and get as much practice/experience as possible as sadly I don't have any climber friends.

Any advice would be hugely appreciated.
Tomtom 15 Sep 2017
In reply to Lmc:

SPA, or even CWA is an instructing award, and essentially, how can you instruct well if you dont have any experience?!
To be honest I don't think the standards at CWA level are high enough, or at least thorough enough in assessment. SPA is more thorough from an outdoor experience point of view, but less so on a group management side. Which as an instructor is important.
Anyhow, before I digress, I've witnessed some pretty shocking instructing from those holding NGB awards, as well as those having been trained on the scheme prior to assessment. For the good of your potential clients, please don't rush into these awards.

Why not just start with climbing, and see if you enjoy it?
Find a local wall, and take their beginners course, often grouped with other adults, so you don't need a friend to join at the same time. Then from there you can find partners to climb with. Get clued up and experienced, and if you like it, look to get outside, where you can gain experience there.

For now, forget about SPA, and get into climbing, it's pretty good
 alan moore 15 Sep 2017
In reply to Lmc:

..or alternatively...