Hiking French Pyrenees

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Matt438 28 Aug 2017
Hi,
New to the forum and looking for suggestions.

My wife and I (30's, fairly fit and regulars to the beacons) will be in southwest of France in a few weeks. We're hoping to take maybe 3 days for some walking in the Pyrenees so I'm looking for suggested itineraries.
I'd be keen to stay in a (catered) refuge so I can take pictures At sunrise and sunset (I'm a fairly mediocre amateur photographer).
Perfect would be a circular route with maybe 6hr days (to allow time for camera flappery) and 2 refuge nights but a there and back with 1 is better than nothing and I can find a local day route.

Googling I just haven't quite found what I'm looking for so I'd love to hear suggestions please.

Matt

Sealwife 28 Aug 2017
In reply to Matt438:

https://www.walkopedia.net/walks/display-walk.asp?WalkID=855

You could go from Gavarnie up to the Breche de Roland and either spend the night at the refuge beneath the Breche then return to Gavarnie by a different route, or continue your walk, through to Spain and the Ordesa Canyon as per the link above.
 mbh 28 Aug 2017
In reply to Matt438:
You could do worse than do what we did a couple of years ago. We camped, but at refuges, and ate the food they made.

Day 1 - GR10, short
Merens Les Vals (train station - on the line to Barcelona from Toulouse)) - Refuge des Besines.
Short and steep, with hearty refuge food when you get there, and sulphurous pools on the way up.

Day 2 - GR10 long, flat
Refuge des Besines - Refuge (chalet) des Bouillouses
A stunningly beautiful high mountain day, most of it at around 2000m, I think, ending at a lake with a dam. A great cook at the refuge.

Day 3 - not the GR10, but a way marked route : Carlit route, or something? Quite long but really lovely.
Refuge des Bouillouses - Enveig (train station - end of the line that you started on)