Climbing and mental health

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
upupup 17 Aug 2017
Hopefully, this long post will spark some insightful discussion, if not apologies for wasting your time.

I’ve been climbing for around five years now. During the last two years, I’ve started to develop anxiety. The intensity of this anxiety varies from being severe enough to stop me wanting to go to the shops, to being practically non-existent.

Since developing anxiety I’ve noticed how much I depend on climbing to help with this problem when it flares up. I usually climb two or three times a week and go climbing outdoors as much as often. I operate around E1/E2 and even at this modest level, I still feel that climbing makes up a significant proportion of my life.

If I’m feeling anxious after a day's work I’ll go climbing and do some circuits. The absorbing nature of flowing from one hold to the next really helps to take my mind of what I’ve been worrying about. I’ll finish a good indoor training session tired and buzzing. Apart from the possibility of picking up an injury and having to stop climbing for a while, this method of coping with anxiety seems pretty foolproof and healthy.

When I go climbing outside, my emphasis moves from just getting in the flow and trying some nice boulder problems, to trying more dangerous trad routes. I try to stick to safe routes, and by a lot of people's standards, the routes I climb aren’t dangerous at all, but quite often if I were to fall, it would result in some severe injuries. I like to climb routes that scare me but aren’t objectively dangerous.

When I’m focused on a trad route, nothing else seems to matter, I escape the mundanity of everyday life and the size of my world diminishes to what is right in front of me. I like to struggle on trad routes and can think of few things in life that beat the feeling of getting to the top of a trad route that I found particularly difficult.