Taking friends climbing with their kids

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 bpmclimb 09 Jun 2017
I'm an experienced SPA instructor, but don't run my own company, having always freelanced for other companies (and been covered by their insurance). I'd like to take a couple of close friends climbing, and get their kids (3 in total, the youngest is 5) top roping - probably at a Dartmoor crag. The possibility of extending the group to include a cousin's family has been mentioned. Would you:

Go for it but make it clear that it's a casual "as friends" arrangement?
Do it through a company I know and offer to be (unpaid) staff for the day?
Don't touch it with a bargepole?

timjones 09 Jun 2017
In reply to bpmclimb:

> I'm an experienced SPA instructor, but don't run my own company, having always freelanced for other companies (and been covered by their insurance). I'd like to take a couple of close friends climbing, and get their kids (3 in total, the youngest is 5) top roping - probably at a Dartmoor crag. The possibility of extending the group to include a cousin's family has been mentioned. Would you:Go for it but make it clear that it's a casual "as friends" arrangement?Do it through a company I know and offer to be (unpaid) staff for the day?Don't touch it with a bargepole?

Do it as a friends arrangement.

Everyone should have friends and treat them as such.
 wbo 09 Jun 2017
In reply to bpmclimb: the first. It's nice to have friends

OP bpmclimb 12 Jun 2017
In reply:

I'm surprised - I thought I'd get a fair few posts warning about duty of care, lack of insurance, etc.
 Alex Riley 12 Jun 2017
In reply to bpmclimb:

If you are an spa these issues should have been covered fairly comprehensively on the course.

You do have a duty of care, but if, like you say are an experienced spa then I would hope you would understand the risks associated of working in that context.