Website payment and booking

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 MeMeMe 27 Apr 2017

So my partner is running some forest school sessions over the summer and wants to put some kind of booking and payment form on her website so people can book sessions through it.

I'm a coder and so in her eyes can just sort this out in a few minutes of my spare time...
I don't however code anything to do with websites and so although I'm sure I could figure out something I thought somebody might be able to give me some pointers as to what to use to do this.

What we want -

A booking form where you can select dates and times from a pre-determined range. It would be great if we could enforce constraints on it, e.g. a minimum booking is 3 hours. Also it would be great if there was something to indicate if you wanted us to supply lunch.

Something that'll add up the cost of the things you've selected and manage that (a shopping basket type thing) and something to take payment such that we can get the money (paypal?).

She currently has a free (I think it's free, or at least very cheap) account on wordpress.com. It would be great if we could have something on there but a link to elsewhere would work too.

Any pointers as to where to go with this?
Will this be a pain to do or is there some off the shelf solution that'll do this?
It's not a big money making exercise so something that takes a percentage off the payments is fine, something where we pay monthly is probably not what we need because the sessions will probably just be over the summer hols.
 elsewhere 27 Apr 2017
In reply to MeMeMe:
WordPress will have a plugin for this.
There will be a tried and tested solution that does what you want but it might not be exactly what you want and it might not be free.

I assume you'd have to get a hosting deal rather than run it on WordPress.com.

WooCommerce* is the "default" for WordPress ecommerce.

Magento* is the "default" for "proper" ecommerce