can anyone put a name this N Wales route?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
aswilletts 22 Apr 2017
 jon 23 Apr 2017
In reply to aswilletts:

Have you any reason to think that it's Ogwen, rather than the Pass, for instance?
 Mike Conlon 23 Apr 2017
In reply to aswilletts:

I am no expert but it makes me think of the first stance on Outside Edge Route on Cwm Silan.
 Mooncat 23 Apr 2017
In reply to aswilletts:

My first thought was spiral stairs on the cromlech.
 Doug 23 Apr 2017
In reply to Mooncat:

My first thought as well, but then I read Ogwen
 jon 23 Apr 2017
In reply to Doug:
Hence my reply. I thought Cromlech - and actually Spiral Stairs - but it's a long time since I climbed there, so it's only really a guess.
Post edited at 10:22
In reply to aswilletts:

I wonder if it could be something above the Idwal Slabs around Holly Tree Wall. Lazarus, perhaps, or Piton Route ?
 Iain Thow 23 Apr 2017
In reply to aswilletts:

Looks rather like the first pitch of Y Gelynen in the Moelwyns. Is that a possibility (it was put up in 1953)?
 Mooncat 23 Apr 2017
In reply to Gordon Stainforth:

There's something about the rock on the photo which doesn't look right for there to me but it's a long time since I've been there.
 summo 23 Apr 2017
> I wonder if it could be something above the Idwal Slabs around Holly Tree Wall. Lazarus, perhaps, or Piton Route ?

Perhaps holly tree wall itself. Piton and original route behind.

Or, something completely different.. slanting buttress, lliwedd.
Post edited at 13:34
In reply to summo:

I don't remember Holly Tree Wall itself as having much of a gentle lead in. Also, the rock looks a little bit too rounded for Lliwedd.
 summo 23 Apr 2017

> I don't remember Holly Tree Wall itself as having much of a gentle lead in. Also, the rock looks a little bit too rounded for Lliwedd.