hardshell & windproof fleece jacket replacement advice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
strawbale 03 Mar 2017
Hello everyone,

I'm new to this interesting forum, looking for gear advice. As you can see in my short profile, I'm a (Dutch) hill & mountain walker, now living in the French Pyrenees, born 1960, nowadays primarily doing day-walks @1500-2000m with a full day-pack (for me and my wife) or, more often, a half-full bigger rucksack (because of the a very comfortable hip-belt), as well local 1-hr walks several times a week (@550m).

My current hardshell (Arcterix Theta AR, from 2003, free warranty replacement of similar de-laminating 2000 model) is falling apart (seams, zips) even though still water-proof, and my windstopper fleece jacket (Mountain Hardwear Mountain Jacket, from 2000) is wearing thin (have replaced the main & pit-zips). First priority is replacing the hardshell, but thought it'd useful to see that with a needed replacement of the windproof in the nearish future.

I bought this combination at a time when I still did multi-day backpacking trips (UK, New Zealand, Patagonia, Himalayas) as well as day-walks (UK), to be well-prepared for all weather. Nowadays, in Spring/Fall in the mountains, I often find the MH windstopper becoming quickly too warm over my mid-weight base-layer, in spite of the very useful pit-zips. So I sometimes find myself putting the hardshell on in stead, with pit-zips open, but not a very comfortable 'solution'. PS: For local walks the MH is fine, as I won't carry any pack, so don't get as warm - so I'll keep it for that.

Thinking about a quality hardshell, maybe a bit lighter than the current Arcterix (700g) and definitely less expensive (max £250, but preferably less), as it's much more in my pack/rucksack than when I bought it - becoming a bit of a fair weather walker these days - but still hard-wearing enough for a pack/rucksack for many years.