Holdall / Duffle bags?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Ryan Parle 19 Feb 2017
I'm looking for a decent hard wearing Holdall/Duffle bag, a little while ago I bought the OEX Valour 80 from Go Outdoors, loaded it with 20kg of kit picked it up by the shoulder strap which promptly ripped out of the stitching and the bag fell to the floor. I was going to return it, but it also ended up with a load of holes worn in the base, I guess it was dragged by someone in the baggage handling, & I'm not sure if they will take it back.

So I'm after a replacement that will hold together with a moderate load and take a bit of punishment from time to time.

Any suggestions?
 shuffle 19 Feb 2017
In reply to Ryan Parle:

I've been using a Mountain Equipment one for several years. I think it was fairly expensive when I bought it, but it has taken a lot of abuse and is still going strong.
 Fraser 19 Feb 2017
In reply to Ryan Parle:

TNF Base Camp duffel, bombproof. I bought an XL on sale a few years back for £70 and it's been great.

http://www.cotswoldoutdoor.com/the-north-face-base-camp-duffel-xl-e2314260
 lordyosch 19 Feb 2017
In reply to Ryan Parle:

I've got a TNF duffle -lasted a long time.
Also have an ME Wet/Dry one. Has zippered bits at the the ends and a dry bag- very handy for stinky pants.

Both are well built

Jay
 Scott K 19 Feb 2017
In reply to Ryan Parle:
For a different take on it, have a look at Lomo. They make wetsuits but their bags look really good and cheap enough. They have 60 l expedition bag for about £35 which is tempting me at the moment.
Post edited at 19:10
 nathan79 19 Feb 2017
In reply to Ryan Parle:

If you don't need waterproof and don't mind the military look then Highlander/Pro Force do some decent heavy duty ones in various sizes. I've got a Highlander Loader 100L that's served me well since 2013, cost me £30. All the straps you need and cavernous. Doesn't have the cool factor of ME of TNF but all the practicality.