Moving to Penrith or Kendal

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
matron 16 Nov 2016
Hi everyone.
I work as a nurse in Salisbury. I have visited Cumbria a handful of time and climbed a few mountains!
I am considering moving for lots of reasons. I want a more active out door life. Property is affordable , clean air country life and the rainy gusty winds I love.
I was considering Kendal or Penrith. Any areas to avoid? As a nurse I hope to find work without travelling to to long.
It would be great to hear from people who currently live in the area and those who took the plunge and moved.
Thanks!
 JLS 16 Nov 2016
In reply to matron:

>"Any areas to avoid?"

Flooding rivers.
matron 16 Nov 2016
In reply to JLS:

lol. please feel free to tell me!
 JLS 16 Nov 2016
In reply to matron:

Beyond having friends who got flooded in Kendal, I know little of the area.
There will be lots of "affordable" property in and around Penrith and Kendal due to past flooding events.
I'm pretty sure these places will flood again so be aware.
 Rob Parsons 16 Nov 2016
In reply to matron:

For a start, have a look at https://www.foe.co.uk/page/flood-map-england-wales

https://www.gov.uk/check-flood-risk also has related information.
Post edited at 16:54
 Phil1919 16 Nov 2016
In reply to JLS:

Unlike York, Gloucester, Thames valley which will never flood again......

Plenty of higher ground around Kendal and I'm sure Penrith. If you do buy on the floodplain, at least the river goes up and down very quickly. I'm from down down souff, but have chosen to live happily in Kendal for 30 years now.
 Lord_ash2000 16 Nov 2016
In reply to matron: