Running help. 0 - marathon in 4 mnths. Doable? Help!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Runningforglory 10 Jan 2013
Very stupidly I've said yes to a friend and we are going to try for a marathon in 4 months. I would appreciate any tips on training. If you assume I know nothing you're bigging me up a bit.

Currently my training which is only two weeks old includes hill walking at the weekends where I'm trying to push the distances but only doing 10 -15 miles per trip right now.

Running is going a bit slower. I'm ashamed to admit my first run was less than a mile before intense pain around the midriff and a collapsed lung closed play. After two weeks of running every morning I am now up to around 1.75 miles but very sore in the legs and midriff still and still getting very out of breath.

Has anyone done anything like this in this time scale? Is it doable? Any good tips for a complete beginner on how to structure the training better?
In reply to Runningforglory: I would take a rest day rather than run every day if you're not used to it. You will need time to allow your muscles to repair and adapt. I'm sure there are some free training plans if you search google, but I would think if you are not running 10k comfortably in 4 weeks, then it maybe tough.

Good luck
 jfw 10 Jan 2013
I think you may have to aim at covering the distance with jog/ walking. i.e. jog a bit run a bit.

The time on your feet from hill walking will stand you in good stead - but you need to condition your legs/feet to the less forgiving road.

I would look at couch to 5km training plans to get some ideas for jog a bit walk a bit approach

Also from the sound of it you are trying to run too fast - think "jogging " rather than running and what you can maintain over a long time.
In reply to Runningforglory:

There are some plans on here that may help you: http://www.greatermanchestermarathon.com/training/training-plans
 andy 10 Jan 2013