UKC

OI NEWS: Alpkit ...Your Suggestions..the perfect belay jacket.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 UKC Gear 23 Jun 2009
[0Hiro Synthetic Jacket. , 2 kb]
The 0Hiro jacket is the latest in our line of CoLab projects, selling them cheaper in return for your good comments.. or bad.... (we don't mind, as long as they are constructive!). This time around it's a synthetic belay jacket.

So, what makes the perfect belay jacket? Your thoughts are valuable to us, so please feel free to comment and feedback in this forum thread!

Read more at http://www.ukclimbing.com/gear/news.php?id=1936
Paul F 23 Jun 2009
In reply to UKC Gear:

I'd like a couple of big mesh pockets on the inside to stash gloves to stop them freezing up on change overs.

I have a PHD Zeta belay jacket which is spot on for a belay jacket (but a bit pricey now), this is the only addition/change i would make to it.
 TonyM 23 Jun 2009
In reply to UKC Gear:
Clone the Patagonia DAS Parka, and I don't think you'd go far wrong. In fact, I think it is close to perfect. Mine's lava orange, and I love the colour too. Totally essential to have bright photogenic colours, and no drab tones that imitate rock or moss.
 FrankBooth 23 Jun 2009
In reply to UKC Gear:
lightness, squashability and warmth. Winter means a big, heavy bag carried for endless miles - i don't want half of it taken up by a coat that i only need to use once i'm on route.
A hood that'll go over my helmet is important, and it shouldn't flop around too much. a good waterproof DWR would be good
 TobyA 23 Jun 2009
In reply to UKC Gear: My belay jacket manifesto is here: http://www.ukclimbing.com/gear/review.php?id=1375 It's all about the hood - but I'm pretty certain that the Alpkit guys have that covered. It should go over both a helmet and shell or shoftshell hood I reckon.