Worth a binding swap? Old Dynafits and safety?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 neuromancer 28 Dec 2020

I've always skied (with work mainly) in frame touring bindings. I bought myself a pair of backcountry skis cheap secondhand last year to open up scotland but never managed to get out.

The skis are 177 mtn explore 95's. They came with what I am pretty sure are pre-anti-rotation-plate Dynafit tlt speed radicals. No noticeable damage, and they rotate firmly and the toes snap in and out well (though I am not an expert).  The guy I bought them from had also planned to put a more burly binding on - Kingpins (post recall), so I ended up with the lot (for not a whole lot of money, frankly).

I'm not a strong skier - a 78kg climber turned skier rather than the other way around, but happy on steeper stuff until the snow is cruddy and soft when I can get chucked into the back seat and struggle to get out. 

The radicals fit my bsl. Is it worth having the skis redrilled and fitting the kingpins? Would it make my life easier? Skiing easier? I have piste / front side skis with alpine bindings fwiw. 

HeMa 28 Dec 2020
In reply to neuromancer:

I wouldn’t. Unless After a lot of skiing you feel the binding being the one that gives out (not likely, I recall the MTN 95 is rather touring specific, so a tad ”flimsy”).

But Why het something like a King Pin? Why not a Switch? Not much more weight penalty, but a lot beefier (and then the week point in your rig is either the skis or boots).

OP neuromancer 28 Dec 2020
In reply to HeMa:

Because I have a set of kingpins sat here in a box. I think if I were buying a set new, I'd probably order alpinists or something similar, but here I am. I don't get out enough to warrant spanking loads of money on new stuff - I just want to make my life easier and/or safer. I was just worried as they were bindings from like 2008 or something and I need all the help I can get. Boots are Vulcans.

Post edited at 13:41