Skis that for B3 walking boots

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Si + Kim 18 Nov 2012
Hiya,

Does anyone Know if it is possible to get skis and ski bindings that will fit B3 walking boots?
and If is it any reccomendations for makes and places to buy them from?

Im looking for some short approach ski kinda things, that i can easily strap to my rucksack for a bit of fun while out an about in the snow this winter

Thanks
Si
 SeasonalDrip 18 Nov 2012
In reply to Si + Kim:

I'm no expert but I know It's certainly possible to get B3 compatible bindings. I've got some old fritchii 88 bindings which are pretty simple to use and minimalist, they fit my B3s fine. However, Its worth bearing in mind the reduced ankle support compared to proper ski boots. A quick search on needlesports turned up some shortish approach type skis at 2.8kg/pair so might be worth having a look (they do have a hefty price tag though). Personally I'd have a look on eBay or something similar and pick up a cheap used pair. But obviously that depends on your needs/experience/budget. As I mentioned my knowledge is a little limited, hope this helps a bit though.

Martin W 18 Nov 2012
In reply to Si + Kim: The general consensus - eg here: http://www.ukhillwalking.com/forums/t.php?t=522365 - seems to be that skiing in climbing boots is not "fun", and it's preferable to climb in ski mountaineering boots if you anticipate being on skis at some point during the day.

This UKC article http://www.ukclimbing.com/articles/page.php?id=3568 has some more information, including a contrary viewpoint - the author of which expanded on the subject in this ski review: http://www.ukclimbing.com/gear/review.php?id=3493
sdjhayes 20 Nov 2012