Flaws in existing outdoor products/Products you wish existed

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Finn_Allan 30 Sep 2022

Hi there!

My name is Finn and I’m currently studying product design at university in Sheffield. I’m doing a project at the moment focusing on outdoor gear (climbing, skiing, camping, hiking etc).

My aim is to create a new piece of outdoor gear or to develop/improve upon an existing product.

For my research I’m collecting peoples opinions on:

Any problems they have encountered with gear they use

Any suggestions for improvements that could be made to existing gear      

Any ideas for gear that doesn’t yet exist

If you have any ideas/suggestions then please send me a message, leave a comment, or click the link to fill in the google form: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSczcm0l2BG7Mzg186rVi5T-NOEZF2FwFxq...

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Finn

Twiggy Diablo 30 Sep 2022
In reply to Finn_Allan

When wearing a rucksack my back always gets too hot and sweaty. Rucksack manufacturers have tried to fix this with increased airflow but it’d be good to have an insulated jacket with a wicking panel at the back instead of insulation there.

bit niche maybe. Perhaps you could design something with removable insulation in the back for this situation.

Post edited at 17:12
 a crap climber 30 Sep 2022
In reply to Finn_Allan:

I'm not very good at climbing but I'd like to be better.

I don't like training or trying hard in general though.

Is there something you could invent that would make me better without too much undue effort?

For some ideas that might be more achievable have a look through this thread from a while ago: https://www.ukhillwalking.com/forums/gear/which_outdoors_product_should_i_impr...

ablackett 30 Sep 2022
In reply to Finn_Allan:

A monocle.

seriously, I don’t think you can buy them but, I can’t be fussed with contacts and glasses don’t work when the weathers bad.