Engineer's report on the Aviemore funicular.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Rigid Raider 22 Nov 2018

Somebody got this through a FOI request. The shabby design and construction are extremely depressing. Was it built by the same firm who built Spaghetti Junction and that bridge in Genoa?

http://www.winterhighland.info/cairngorm/FunicularRailwayConditionReport201...

Dark-Cloud 22 Nov 2018
In reply to Rigid Raider:

Wow, i'm no structural engineer but that looks like some pretty severe design/build issues and negligent maintenance right there.

Andy Johnson 22 Nov 2018

A bit of quick googling indicates that it was built by Morrison Construction. I can't find anything that indicates what the intended lifespan of the infrastructure was though.

I'm not an engineer, so I'm wondering whether the problems identified back in 2016 were due to underestimating the harshness of the environment, inadequate maintenance, or other factors.

And if they waited a further two years before closing the railway then how much worse must it be now?

Post edited at 13:08
 Doug 22 Nov 2018
In reply to Andy Johnson:

I think there have been further reports in 2017 & 2018 but don't know if they've been made public although I suspect that WinterHighland &/or others will have tried using a FOI request

Morrison Construction whose chairman Fraser Morrison was also once the chairman of the  HIE board & which employed a former HIE chief executive... Surely no conflict of interests

Post edited at 13:18
 jkarran 22 Nov 2018

Blimey, that's not ageing very well is it.

jk

Rigid Raider 22 Nov 2018

Meanwhile, elsewhere in Britain, structures engineered by IK Brunel and Scots the Stevensons and Thomas Telford are still giving reliable service a couple of hundred years after construction.

fmck 22 Nov 2018