Watch display data

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Herdwickmatt 04 Jun 2020

I’m new to this running watch malarkey but what info do you have displayed when you run?

anyone recommend a good app for garmin 735?

In reply to Herdwickmatt:

I set up my Garmin with run time, distance and average pace on the first screen and very rarely look at other screens.

Pace is important to me on a lot of my runs. I always use average pace, the other option (current pace?) I don't find at all helpful as most of my routes undulate a lot and pace jumps around. Could be useful if you were on a flat run or track run.

SouthernSteve 04 Jun 2020

As mountain.martin says: pace, time and distance on the first screen and I usually have lap statistics on the second and elevation information on the third. There is a good zones HR screen you can use if you are training that way. You can set up km or mile laps with specific information displayed briefly at that moment. If you are running a 5 mile race, you can set 4 mile laps for instance so you can give you're all for the final stretch. 

The thing to avoid is the auto change function which moves between the different screens and will always be wrong. 

Sometimes it is nice just to show the time of day and see how you did after the event.

Have fun.

Post edited at 19:41
 SouthernSteve 04 Jun 2020

re: App

I would just use Garmin Connect. It's good for most things - you can share to STRAVA if you want the social aspect with limited functionality for free.

dread-i 04 Jun 2020
In reply to mountain.martin:

>I always use average pace, the other option (current pace?)