Ultra advice needed.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Alex8584 10 Feb 2023

I have missed out on the UTMB CCC ballot for the last three years, but yesterday I received an email from the organisers saying I was a 'lucky loser'. I have now been offered and have taken a place to run the 100km CCC on the 9th of September. I also have a entry to run the Ultra trail Snowdonia 100km race on the 15th of May, which I would still like to run. Is this enough time for me to recover and get fit enough between the two events?

I've never ran a 100km race before although I have been running injury free for over 6 years and have completed several mountain 50km races. My training for UTS is going well and I'm handling the back to back runs well. If you were in my position would you sacrifice the UTS in order to be in top condition for the CCC, or run both?

Thanks,

Alex

mountainbagger 10 Feb 2023
In reply to Alex8584:

I would do both. If the CCC is your goal race for the year, then I'd use the UTS as training to dial in the nutrition and pacing. I wouldn't push hard in the UTS but I think the race experience will be valuable. I'd be happy with almost 4 months between them.

How well have you recovered after your 50K races? I've generally been able to get back training normal loads within a week of a 50K. I've done two 50K events with 6 weeks between and that felt perfectly fine.

Edit to add I am not an expert, coach or anything resembling someone you should listen to other than I've been running a lot! I'm just saying what I would do. I'm also envious of your successful entry to the CCC!

Post edited at 22:02
 greg_may_ 10 Feb 2023
In reply to Alex8584:

I too got a lucky loser slot See you there! Or before if you're in the area and fancy a run/panic.

UTS is a great race. Should be enough time between the two.

SouthernSteve 11 Feb 2023
In reply to Alex8584: