Training for Beep Test

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
as646 18 Nov 2012
I have about 3 months to train for the beep test. I currently do very little running, I'm starting training today however. As I understand it, the best way to train is interval training, eg HIIT.

I'm currently scoring around a 9 on it. What is a realistic score I could get with 3 months hard training? Could I reasonably expect to get a 13?

Also, in terms of the amount I should train, I was thinking of doing 3 sessions of roughly half an hour of intervals a week, with maybe 1 long run thrown in as well. Too little? Too much? I've never done much running before, so not sure what consitutes a lot or a little.
In reply to as646:

What the hell's the "Beep Test"? Does it test endurance, strength, power? What do the scores mean?

ALC
as646 18 Nov 2012
In reply to a lakeland climber: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multi-stage_fitness_test

It measures VO2 Max. Essentially, you have an audio track that consists of regularly spaced "beeps". You are required to run between two lines 20m from each-other between the beeps. The time between the beeps gets progressively shorter as the test goes on.
In reply to as646:

It's very hard to alter your VO2max over a short period of time, assuming the scale is linear then you are asking for an increase in one of your base physiological indicators of nearly 50%.

Intervals will certainly help, mix them up, some on the flat some on the hills but no more than two sessions a week as they are very intensive. Combine with tempo runs to try and build your base fitness.

ALC
as646 18 Nov 2012
In reply to a lakeland climber: Cheers. I think you can to an extent "train" specifically for the beep test, eg practice turning and such, which will also improve. 13 is an ideal, I'm looking to go into the Royal Marines, and I believe the baseline score is 11, which is certainly achievable within 3 months.